Tuesday, August 21, 2007

Wins 1950-2004


  • Silverstone - Froilan Gonzales - Ferrari 375 F1

  • Nurburgring - Alberto Ascari - Ferrari 375 F1

  • Monza - Alberto Ascari - Ferrari 375 F1


  • Bern-Bremgarten - Pierro Taruffi - Ferrari 500 F2

  • Spa-Francorchamps - Alberto Ascari - Ferrari 500 F2

  • Rouen - Alberto Ascari - Ferrari 500 F2

  • Silverstone - Alberto Ascari - Ferrari 500 F2

  • Nurburgring - Alberto Ascari - Ferrari 500 F2

  • Zandvoort - Alberto Ascari - Ferrari 500 F2

  • Monza - Alberto Ascari - Ferrari 500 F2


  • Buenos Aires - Alberto Ascari - Ferrari 500 F2

  • Zandvoort - Alberto Ascari - Ferrari 500 F2

  • Spa-Francorchamps - Alberto Ascari - Ferrari 500 F2

  • Reims - Mike Hawthorn - Ferrari 500 F2

  • Silverstone - Alberto Ascari - Ferrari 500 F2

  • Nurburgring - Giuseppe Farina - Ferrari 500 F2

  • Bern-Bremgarten - Alberto Ascari - Ferrari 500 F2


  • Perdralbes - Mike Hawthorn - Ferrai 553 F1
  • Silverstone - Froilan Gonzales - Ferrari 625 F1


  • Monaco - M. Tritingnant - Ferrari 625 F1


  • Buenos Aires - Manuel Fangio - Ferrari D50
  • Spa-Francorchamps - Peter Collins - Ferrari D50
  • Reims - Peter Collins - Ferrari D50
  • Silverstone - Manuel Fangio - Ferrari D50
  • Nurburgrung - Manuel Fangio - Ferrari D50


  • Reims - Mike Hawthorn - Ferrari 246 F1
  • Silverstone - Peter Collins - Ferrari 246 F1


  • Reims - Tony Brooks - Ferrari 256 F1
  • Avus - Tony Brooks - Ferrari 256 F1


  • Monza - Phill Hill - Ferrari 256 F1


  • Zandvoort - Volfgang von TRips - Ferrari 156 F1
  • Spa-Francorchamps - Phill Hill - Ferrari 156 F1
  • Reims - Giancarlo Baghetti - Ferrari 156 F1
  • Aintree - Volfgang von TRips - Ferrari 156 F1
  • Monza - Phill Hill - Ferrari 156 F1


  • Nurburgrung - John Surtees - Ferrari 156 F1


  • Nurburgrung - John Surtees - Ferrari 158 F1
  • Zeltweg - Lorenzo Bandini - Ferrari 156 F1
  • Monza - John Surtees - Ferrari 158 F1


  • Spa-Francorchamps - John Surtees - Ferrari 312 F1
  • MOnza - Ludvico Scarfiott - Ferrari 312 F1


  • Rouen les Essarts - Jacky Ickx - Ferrari 312 F1


  • Osterreichring - Jacky Ickx - Ferrari 312 B
  • Monza - Clay Ragazzoni - Ferrari 312 B
  • St. Jovite - Jacky Ickx - Ferrari 312 B
  • Mexico City - Jacky Ickx - Ferrari 312 B

to be continued

Sunday, August 5, 2007

History of Ferrari in F1

  • Wins - 198
  • Podium finishes - 601
  • Fastest laps - 202
  • Pole position - 195
  • Front row starts - 376

The prancing horse motif of Ferrari is one of the best known icons in motor sport. Enzo Ferrari took the emblem from the First World War Italian fighter ace Francesco Baracca.

The FIA Formula 1 Championship was launched in 1950 and was initially dominated by Alfa Romeo but in 1951 at the British GP, Ferrari achieved their first win – the first of many Grand Prix victories. The driver was Froilan Gonzalez.

Ferrari took the Drivers World Championship in 1952 and 1953 with Alberto Ascari driving one of the all-time classic single seater racing cars – the Ferrari 500. In two seasons – 1952 and 1953 the Ferrari 500 won every Grand Prix except just one race.

In 1958, Mike Hawthorn driving for Ferrari became the first British World Drivers Champion.

But Grand Prix racing was changing – a new formula with a 1.5 litre normally aspirated engine was introduced and rear engined cars became the ‘standard’. Ferrari produced the famous ‘shark nosed’ GP car and Phil Hill of the United States took the 1961 Drivers World Championship with this car, after his team mate Wolfgang von Trips was killed in racing accident at the Italian Grand Prix.

During the 1960s and 1970s, new teams such as Lotus, Tyrell, and McLaren began to dominate F1 and be the innovating force.

Ferrari now had to wait eleven years for their next Drivers World Champion – Niki Lauda became World Champion in 1975 driving for Ferrari. The following year Lauda had a horrific crash in his Ferrari and suffered major burns, but Lauda recovered from his injuries and in 1977 he took the World Drivers Championship for Ferrari.

Highly professional organised teams such as McLaren and Williams dominated Grand Prix racing in the 1980s and 1990s.

Michael Schumacher – twice World Drivers Champion – moved to Ferrari in 1996 and a new international management team was assembled including Jean Todt and the British master strategist - Ross Brawn (who had worked with Schumacher at Benetton). Schumacher was runner up in the World championship in 1997 and 1998. Schumacher has signed a very lucrative contract to stay at Ferrari and his efforts were rewarded by taking the F1 Drivers Championship in year 2000 (21 years since Jody Schekter took the title for Ferrari). Schumacher has taken the Driver World Championship four more times for Ferrari – including record breaking 6th World Championship in 2003.

The credentials of the Ferrari team are impressive – they are the only F1 team to be continuously active in the current World Championship since its inception over 50 years ago. The team continue to enjoy world wide support and particularly fanatical support in Italy and it has scored the largest number of Grand prix wins of any team, but competition in F1 racing remains fierce.

Drivers who have won the Drivers World Championship for Ferrari

1952 Alberto Ascari (Italy)

1953 Alberto Ascari (Italy)

1956 Juan-Manuel Fangio (Arg)

1958 Mike Hawthorn (GB)

1961 Phil Hill (USA)

1964 John Surtees (GB)

1975 Niki Lauda (Austria)

1977 Niki Lauda (Austria)

1979 Jody Schekter (South Africa)

2000 Michael Schumacher (Germany)

2001 Michael Schumacher (Germany)

2002 Michael Schumacher (Germany)

2003 Michael Schumacher (Germany)

Ferrari is an Italian sports car manufacturer based in Maranello and Modena, Italy. Ferrari cars have been made since 1970, with its speed and elegance epitomised and embodies the ethos of it's founder Enzo Ferrari.
Ferrari has become unanimous with speed, prestige and elegance. Ferrari's cars are among the most desirable of vehicles to own and drive, and are one of the ultimate status symbols of wealth in the world.
A Ferrari is, to many, more than just a car: it is a work of art. It is like no other car in the world, the smell of the leather, the sound of the exhaust, nothing comes close.
In the mid 1990s, Ferrari added the letter "F" to the beginning of all models (a practice quickly abandoned after the F512M and F355, but recently picked up again with the F430). The Ferrari F430 is a two-seater that is available in two forms; the Berlinetta and the Spider. The F430 has been produced since 2004 and production continues to date.


Ferrari's fifty-year Formula 1 history is made up of ups and downs, of memorable exploits and bitter disappointments, of exciting chapters and long periods of decline. It has little relevance however because Ferrari is,quite simply, the essence of F1 itself. It is the only team in F1 to have taken part in every edition of the world championship from 1950 to the present day. It is the team that has won the most GPs, the most Drivers' and Constructors' titles. Ferrari represents the past and the present of the category that is rightly considered to be the pinnacle of competitive motor sport. It is the witness to a historical and sporting manifestation that neither time nor events have alerted. It is because Ferrari is Ferrari, it is legend that grows and is celebrated every season that passes, after each victory conquered by the men in red.